Jurisdiction - Hong Kong
News
Hong Kong – Employment, General: Statutory Minimum Wage Increase Effective 1 May 2015.

24 April, 2015

 

 

The statutory minimum wage will increase from HKD 30 per hour to HKD 32.50 per hour with effect from 1 May 2015. This follows the recommendation from the Minimum Wage Commission (“MWC“) in its 2014 Report.

 

The MWC is an independent statutory body established under the Minimum Wage Ordinance (Cap 608) (“MWO“). Its main function is to report its recommendations on the statutory minimum wage to the Chief Executive in Council when asked to do so.

 

The Minimum Wage Ordinance (Amendment of Schedule 3) Notice, which amends Schedule 3 to the MWO to add the revised statutory minimum wage with effect from 1 May 2015, was gazetted on 16 January 2015. The MWC’s recommendations were tabled in the Legislative Council on 21 January 2015.

 

Hogan Lovells

 

For further information, please contact:

 

Jamie Barr, Partner, Hogan Lovells

jamie.barr@hoganlovells.com

 

Tim Fletcher, Partner, Hogan Lovells

tim.fletcher@hoganlovells.com

 

Terence Lau, Partner, Hogan Lovells

terence.lau@hoganlovells.com

 

Mark Parsons, Partner, Hogan Lovells

mark.parsons@hoganlovells.com

 

Nelson Tang, Partner, Hogan Lovells

nelson.tang@hoganlovells.com

 

Thomas Tarala, Partner, Hogan Lovells

thomas.tarala@hoganlovells.com

 

Steven Tran, Partner, Hogan Lovells

steven.tran@hoganlovells.com

 

Homegrown Labour & Employment Law Firms in Hong Kong 

 

 

Comments are closed.