Jurisdiction - India
News
India – Banking & Finance Updates.

27 October, 2014

 

Legal News & Analysis – Asia Pacific – India – Banking & Finance

 

Until now, lending against shares carried out by non-banking financial companies (‘NBFCs’) was not subject to any specific instructions, apart from the general prudential regulations applicable to all NBFCs. By way of a circular dated August 21, 2014 (‘NBFC Circular’), RBI introduced guidelines for lending against shares in order to obviate market volatility when NBFCs offload shares in the market, and to ensure disclosure to stock markets without unnecessary constraints on the genuine borrowers. The NBFC Circular amended the Non-Banking Financial (Depositing Accepting or Holding) Companies Prudential Norms (Reserve Bank) Directions, 2007 and the Non-Banking Financial (Non-Depositing Accepting or Holding) Companies Prudential Norms (Reserve Bank) Directions, 2007 to provide that an NBFC (with asset size of INR 10m and above), while extending loan against security of shares will (i) maintain a loan to value ratio of 50% for loans granted against the collateral of shares; and (ii) accept only Group 1 securities (as specified by SEBI) as collateral for loans of value more than INR 500k, subject to review by RBI. As per a circular issued by SEBI, stocks that have traded for at least 80% (+/-5%) of all the calendar days for the previous 18 months, and having a mean impact cost of less than or equal to 1% are categorized as ‘Group I Securities’. Further, all NBFCs with asset size of INR 10m and above are required to report on-line to stock exchanges, information on any shares pledged in their favour, by the borrowers of such NBFCs for availing loans.

 

AZB

 

For further information, please contact:

 

Zia Mody, AZB & Partners
zia.mody@azbpartners.com

 

Abhijit Joshi, AZB & Partners 
abhijit.joshi@azbpartners.com


Shuva Mandal, AZB & Partners 
shuva.mandal@azbpartners.com

 

Samir Gandhi, AZB & Partners
samir.gandhi@azbpartners.com


Percy Billimoria, AZB & Partners 
percy.billimoria@azbpartners.com

 

Aditya Bhat, AZB & Partners 
aditya.bhat@azbpartners.com

 

AZB & Partners Banking & Finance Practice Profile in India

 
Banking & Finance Law Firms in India

Comments are closed.