Jurisdiction - India
News
India – CCI Approves Acquisition Of Kalyan Jewellers Private Limited.

28 December, 2014

 

 

On October 13, 2014 CCI approved the proposed acquisition of up to 24 % of the equity share
capital of Kalyan Jewelers Private Limited (‘Kalyan’) by Highdell Investment Limited (‘HIL’).

 

CCI observed that Highdell is an investment holding company, incorporated with the object
of holding long term investments. Shareholders of HIL are private equity funds managed by
Warburg Pincus LLC (‘WP’), a leading global private equity firm focused on investing in portfolio
companies across a broad spectrum of industries and geographies. CCI also observed that
Kalyan is engaged in the business of manufacture and sale of gems and jewelry in India.

 

CCI observed that neither HIL nor WP had any investments in companies engaged in any
business similar to Kalyan. Accordingly, CCI concluded that, in light of the fact that the parties to
the proposed transaction had no horizontal or vertical overlaps, the proposed transaction was
unlikely to have any AAEC in India. Hence, CCI approved the transaction.

 

AZB

 

For further information, please contact:

 

Zia Mody, AZB & Partners
zia.mody@azbpartners.com

 

Abhijit Joshi, AZB & Partners 
abhijit.joshi@azbpartners.com

Shuva Mandal, AZB & Partners 
shuva.mandal@azbpartners.com

 

Samir Gandhi, AZB & Partners
samir.gandhi@azbpartners.com

Percy Billimoria, AZB & Partners 
percy.billimoria@azbpartners.com

 

Aditya Bhat, AZB & Partners 
aditya.bhat@azbpartners.com

Comments are closed.