Jurisdiction - India
News
India – CCI Approves JSW’s Acquisition Of Two Power Projects In Jaiprakash Power Ventures Limited.

17 March, 2015

 


On January 28, 2015, CCI approved the proposed acquisition by JSW Energy Limited (‘JSW Energy’) of two power projects owned by Jaiprakash Power Ventures Limited (‘JVPL’) pursuant to a securities purchase agreement entered into between JSW Energy and JVPL, Himachal Baspa Power Company Limited (‘Himachal Baspa’) and the Jaypee Group Employees Welfare Trust Group.

JSW Energy, the power utility arm of the JSW group of companies, is inter-alia engaged in the business of power transmission, power trading and manufacture of mining equipment. Further, JVPL is in the business of power generation and power transmission. CCI acknowledged that the possible vertical integration between JVPL and subsidiaries of JSW Energy on consummation of the transaction.

The CCI concluded that the proposed transaction would not be likely to cause any AAEC given the large number of public and private players in the market. Accordingly, CCI approved the transaction.

AZB    

For further information, please contact:

 

Zia Mody, AZB & Partners
zia.mody@azbpartners.com

 

Abhijit Joshi, AZB & Partners 
abhijit.joshi@azbpartners.com

Shuva Mandal, AZB & Partners 
shuva.mandal@azbpartners.com

 

Samir Gandhi, AZB & Partners
samir.gandhi@azbpartners.com

Percy Billimoria, AZB & Partners 
percy.billimoria@azbpartners.com

 

Aditya Bhat, AZB & Partners 
aditya.bhat@azbpartners.com

Comments are closed.