Jurisdiction - India
News
India – CCI Approves Meiji Seka Pharma’s Acquisition Of Medreich Limited.

13 October, 2014

 


On August 13, 2014, CCI approved the acquisition of 100% of the share capital of Medreich Limited (‘Medreich’) by Meiji Seka Pharma Co., Ltd. (‘Meiji Seka’). The acquisition was made through five separate share purchase agreements (‘SPA’). 

CCI noted that (i) Meiji Seka had negligible presence in the pharmaceutical business in India, (ii) the parties had no vertical overlaps in India, and (iii) Medreich was mainly a pharmaceuticals exporter with around 80% of its revenue coming from exports.

 
Accordingly, CCI approved the proposed acquisition observing that it was not likely to cause an appreciable adverse effect on competition in India.

 

AZB

 

For further information, please contact:

 

Zia Mody, AZB & Partners
zia.mody@azbpartners.com

 

Abhijit Joshi, AZB & Partners 
abhijit.joshi@azbpartners.com

Shuva Mandal, AZB & Partners 
shuva.mandal@azbpartners.com

 

Samir Gandhi, AZB & Partners
samir.gandhi@azbpartners.com

Percy Billimoria, AZB & Partners 
percy.billimoria@azbpartners.com

 

Aditya Bhat, AZB & Partners 
aditya.bhat@azbpartners.com

Comments are closed.