Jurisdiction - India
News
India – CCI Approves The Proposed Combination Of Solvay And INEOS in SPVC.

24 March, 2014

 


On February 6, 2014, CCI approved the proposed combination involving the formation of a joint venture by Solvay S.A./N.V. (‘Solvay’) and INEOS Group Investments Limited (‘INEOS’) by combining their chlorvinyls and related businesses present in the European Economic Area (‘EEA’). The notice was filed pursuant to the execution of the Shareholders’ Agreement between INEOS, Solvay and the joint venture company (‘SPVC’).

 
Post the proposed combination, SPVC will be jointly held and controlled by Solvay and INEOS, which will be engaged in the business of polyvinyl chloride (‘PVC’) and related products in the EEA.

 
While making its assessment, CCI noted that among the rest of the chlorvinyls-related products (other than PVC), which are exported by Solvay and INEOS to India, there are no overlaps of any nature.

 
In light of the above, CCI was of the view that the proposed acquisition is unlikely to have an Adverse Effect in India.

 

AZB

 

For further information, please contact:

 

Zia Mody, AZB & Partners
zia.mody@azbpartners.com

 

Abhijit Joshi, AZB & Partners 
abhijit.joshi@azbpartners.com


Shuva Mandal, AZB & Partners 

shuva.mandal@azbpartners.com

 

Samir Gandhi, AZB & Partners
samir.gandhi@azbpartners.com


Percy Billimoria, AZB & Partners 

percy.billimoria@azbpartners.com

 

Aditya Bhat, AZB & Partners 
aditya.bhat@azbpartners.com

Comments are closed.