Jurisdiction - India
News
India – Competition Developments Of November.

4 December, 2013

 

 

BRICS Competition Authorities Sign The Delhi Accord


On November 22, 2013, the heads of competition authorities of Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa (collectively, the ‘BRICS Countries’) signed the Delhi Accord during the 3rd BRICS International Competition Conference (‘ICC’) at New Delhi.


Competition authorities in BRICS Countries have recognized the importance of technical cooperation amongst each other for effective enforcement of competition law. The Delhi Accord also captures the commitment of BRICS Countries to exchange views on different aspects of Competition Policy.


The next BRICS ICC will be hosted by the Competition Commission of South Africa in 2015.


CCI Signs Cooperation Agreement With EC


On November 21, 2013, CCI signed a Memorandum of Understanding (‘MoU’) with the European Commission (‘EC’). The MoU was signed by the Mr. Ashok Chawla, Chairman, CCI and Mr. Joaquin Almunia, Vice President, EC.


The MoU allows CCI and EC to strengthen their cooperation in the area of competition law enforcement. Also, the two jurisdictions would be able to engage in discussions on competition legislation, sharing non-confidential information on legislation, enforcement, multilateral competition initiatives and advocacy, and engage in technical cooperation related to competition legislation and enforcement.


AZB

 

For further information, please contact:

 

Zia Mody, AZB & Partners
zia.mody@azbpartners.com

 

Abhijit Joshi, AZB & Partners 
abhijit.joshi@azbpartners.com


Shuva Mandal, AZB & Partners 

shuva.mandal@azbpartners.com

 

Samir Gandhi, AZB & Partners
samir.gandhi@azbpartners.com


Percy Billimoria, AZB & Partners 

percy.billimoria@azbpartners.com

 

Aditya Bhat, AZB & Partners 
aditya.bhat@azbpartners.com

Comments are closed.