Jurisdiction - India
News
India – Employment Snapshots.

29 April, 2014

 
 

The Government of Karnataka has, on January 25, 2014, exempted information technology, information technology enabled services, startups, animation, gaming, computer graphics, telecom, business process outsourcing, knowledge process outsourcing and other knowledge based industries (‘Exempted Industries’) from the applicability of the Industrial Employment (Standing Orders) Act, 1946 (‘IESO Act’) which requires industrial establishments to specify a uniform set of conditions of service in respect of the workmen employed by them.


The exemption has been granted, subject to compliance by the Exempted Industries, with

certain conditions such as:


a. constitution of (i) an internal committee under the Sexual Harassment of Women at Workplace (Prevention, Prohibition and Redressal) Act, 2013, and (ii) a grievance redressal committee to address any complaints/grievances of an employee;


b. furnishing certain prescribed information to the Jurisdictional Deputy Labour Commissioner and the Commissioner of Labour, Karnataka regarding disciplinary actions.

 

AZB

 

For further information, please contact:

 

Zia Mody, AZB & Partners
zia.mody@azbpartners.com

 

Abhijit Joshi, AZB & Partners 
abhijit.joshi@azbpartners.com


Shuva Mandal, AZB & Partners 
shuva.mandal@azbpartners.com

 

Samir Gandhi, AZB & Partners
samir.gandhi@azbpartners.com


Percy Billimoria, AZB & Partners 
percy.billimoria@azbpartners.com

 

Aditya Bhat, AZB & Partners 
aditya.bhat@azbpartners.com


Labour & Employment Law Firms in India

Comments are closed.