Jurisdiction - India
News
India – Employment Updates.

28 April, 2015

 


Simplifying Record Keeping Procedures For Small Establishments

 

The Ministry of Labour and Employment has, through a Gazette notification dated December 10, 2014, enacted the Labour Laws (Exemption from Furnishing Returns and Maintaining Registers by Certain Establishments) Amendment Act, 2014 (the ‘Amendment Act’) for extending the exemption granted under the Labour Laws (Exemption from Furnishing Returns and Maintaining Registers by Certain Establishments) Act 1988, to include establishments employing up to 40 persons from maintaining registers or filing returns, with effect from January 1, 2015. While the number of registers to be maintained by small establishments has also been reduced, the Amendment Act now permits records to be maintained in electronic form, provided that in such case, print outs must be made available to the inspector on demand. Additionally, annual returns may also be furnished under the scheduled legislations through electronic mail, if such a facility is available with the concerned authority.

 

Exemption Under The Maharashtra Shops And Establishments Act, 1948

By notification dated March 17, 2015, issued by the Industries, Energy and Labour Department (‘Notification’), an exemption under the Maharashtra Shops & Establishments Act, 1948 has been granted to all shops in Maharashtra, India such that shops can now remain open on all days of the week, subject to compliance with certain prescribed conditions. The exemption is effective for one year, up to March 16, 2016.

 

AZB

 

For further information, please contact:

 

Zia Mody, AZB & Partners
zia.mody@azbpartners.com

 

Abhijit Joshi, AZB & Partners 
abhijit.joshi@azbpartners.com


Shuva Mandal, AZB & Partners 
shuva.mandal@azbpartners.com

 

Samir Gandhi, AZB & Partners
samir.gandhi@azbpartners.com


Percy Billimoria, AZB & Partners 
percy.billimoria@azbpartners.com

 

Aditya Bhat, AZB & Partners 
aditya.bhat@azbpartners.com


Labour & Employment Law Firms in India

Comments are closed.